Emily Carr Headshot

Emily Carr

#14255
Plus Populaires
Boost
Anniversaire
13 , 1871
Lieu de naissance
Victoria, Canada
DATE DU DÉCÈS
2 Mars, 1945 (73)
Signe Astrologique
Sagittaire
Anniversaire
13 , 1871
Lieu de naissance
Victoria, Canada
DATE DU DÉCÈS
2 Mars, 1945 (73)

À propos

Auteure canadienne et peintre de "Blunden Harbour" qui s'est inspiré de l'histoire et de la culture des peuples autochtones de la côte nord-ouest du Pacifique. Elle a été influencée par les post-impressionnistes et les fauvistes qu'elle a rencontrés lors de son séjour en France.

Avant la gloire

Elle a fréquenté le San Francisco Art Institute et la Westminster School of Art. C'était une professeur impopulaire au Ladies Art Club de Vancouver parce qu'elle fumait et injuriait les étudiants, ce qui les a amenés à boycotter ses cours. Elle est partie au bout d'un mois.

Anecdotes

Elle a commencé à peindre ses œuvres les plus célèbres à la fin de la cinquantaine.

Vie de Famille

Elle était l'avant-dernière d'une fratrie de neuf enfants née en Colombie-Britannique de Richard et Emily Carr. Sa famille était très britannique, et son père insistait pour que les coutumes et les traditions anglaises soient respectées. Elle a été élevée dans la religion presbytérienne et devait faire un sermon à sa famille chaque semaine, ce qu'elle n'a jamais réussi à maîtriser.

Associations

Elle a rencontré une autre artiste féminine, Georgia O'Keeffe, en 1930.

Emily Carr

#26663
Most Popular
Boost
Birthday
13, 1871
Birthplace
Victoria, Canada
Death Date
Mar 2, 1945 (73)
Birth Sign
Sagittarius
Birthday
13, 1871
Birthplace
Victoria, Canada
Death Date
Mar 2, 1945 (73)

About

Canadian author and "Blunden Harbour" painter who was inspired by the history and culture of indigenous peoples of the Pacific Northwest Coast. She was influenced by the post-impressionists and fauvists she encountered while living in France.

Before Fame

She attended the San Francisco Art Institute and the Westminster School of Art. She was an unpopular teacher at the Ladies Art Club in Vancouver because she smoked and cursed at the students, leading them to boycott her classes. She left after a month.

Trivia

She began painting her most famous works when she was in her late 50s.

Family Life

She was the second-youngest of nine siblings born to Richard and Emily Carr in British Columbia. Her family was very British, and her father insisted on upholding the English customs and traditions. She was raised Presbyterian and was required to give a sermon to her family each week, something she never quite mastered.

Associated With

She met fellow female artist Georgia O'Keeffe in 1930.