Helen Keller Profile Picture
Helen Keller Headshot
Helen Keller Headshot
Helen Keller Headshot
Helen Keller Headshot

Helen Keller

#13363
Plus Populaires
Boost
Anniversaire
27 , 1880
Lieu de naissance
Tuscumbia, AL
DATE DU DÉCÈS
1 Juin, 1968 (87)
Signe Astrologique
Cancer
Anniversaire
27 , 1880
Lieu de naissance
Tuscumbia, AL
DATE DU DÉCÈS
1 Juin, 1968 (87)

À propos

Célèbre femme américaine qui, bien que sourde et aveugle, est devenue une suffragette et une militante politique de gauche. Elle a publié douze livres et de nombreux articles au cours de sa vie.

Avant la gloire

Elle a contracté une maladie à l'âge de dix-neuf mois (probablement la scarlatine ou une méningite) qui l'a rendue aveugle et sourde. Dans sa jeunesse, elle a développé un répertoire de signes physiques qu'elle utilisait pour communiquer avec ses parents et avec la jeune fille du cuisinier de la famille Keller.

Anecdotes

Sa vie et l'éducation qu'elle a reçue pendant son enfance avec une enseignante radicale, Anne Sullivan, ont été immortalisées dans The Miracle Worker, une pièce de théâtre jouée à Broadway (et plus tard, un film oscarisé) basée sur l'autobiographie de Keller, The Story of My Life. Anne Sullivan lui a enseigné le langage des signes à l'aide d'une pompe à eau.

Vie de Famille

Elle est née à Tuscumbia, en Alabama, de Kate Adams et de l'éditeur de journaux et capitaine de l'armée confédérée, Arthur H. Keller. La grand-mère paternelle d'Helen Keller était la cousine au second degré du général confédéré Robert E. Lee.

Associations

Elle se lie d'amitié avec l'auteur américain Mark Twain, qui l'aide à devenir la première personne sourde-aveugle à obtenir une licence.

Helen Keller 1 of 5
Helen Keller 2 of 5
Helen Keller 3 of 5
Helen Keller 4 of 5
Helen Keller 5 of 5

Helen Keller

#1255
Most Popular
Boost
Birthday
27, 1880
Birthplace
Tuscumbia, AL
Death Date
Jun 1, 1968 (87)
Birth Sign
Cancer
Birthday
27, 1880
Birthplace
Tuscumbia, AL
Death Date
Jun 1, 1968 (87)

About

Famous American woman who, though deaf and blind, became a women's suffragist and leftist political activist. She published twelve books and a number of articles over the course of her life.

Before Fame

She contracted a disease when she was nineteen months old (likely scarlet fever or meningitis) that left her blind and deaf. As a young child, she developed a repertoire of physical signs which she used to communicate with her parents and with the young daughter of the Keller family's cook.

Trivia

Her life and her childhood education with radical teacher, Anne Sullivan, were immortalized in The Miracle Worker, a Broadway play (and later, Oscar-winning film) based on Keller's autobiography, The Story of My Life. Sullivan taught her sign language through the use of a water pump.

Family Life

She was born in Tuscumbia, Alabama to Kate Adams and newspaper editor and Confederate Army Captain, Arthur H. Keller. Helen Keller's paternal grandmother was the second cousin of Confederate General Robert E. Lee.

Associated With

She became good friends with the American author, Mark Twain, who helped her become the first deaf-blind person to receive a Bachelor's degree.