Kelly Miller

Essayiste

Anniversaire 23 Juillet, 1863

Signe Astrologique Lion

Lieu de naissance Caroline du Sud

DATE DU DÉCÈS 29 Déc., 1939 (76)

#18887 Plus Populaires

À propos

Surtout connu pour ses nombreux essais et ses artistes sur l'égalité raciale, ainsi que pour son livre "Out of the House of Bondage", ce journaliste, auteur et intellectuel éminent afro-américain basé à Washington, D.C., il est surnommé "Bard of the Potomac".

Avant la gloire

Il a eu des études brillantes à la Howard University, mais également à la Johns Hopkins University, dont il a été le premier étudiant afro-américain. Il a obtenu son diplôme de droit à la Howard University au début des années 1900.

Anecdotes

Durant plus d'une décennie, il a été le doyen de la Howard University et il est responsable de la création de la Negro-Americana Museum and Library de l'établissement.

Vie de Famille

Né en Caroline du sud, ses neuf frères et sœurs et lui sont les enfants de l'ancienne esclave Elizabeth Miller et de l'homme libre devenu soldat de l'Armée de l'Union Kelly Miller, Sr. Son mariage avec Annie May Butler a engendré cinq enfants.

Associations

W. E. B. Du Bois et lui ont coédité le journal de la NAACP, "The Crisis".

Kelly Miller

#69225
Most Popular
Boost
Birthday
23, 1863
Birthplace
South Carolina
Death Date
Dec 29, 1939 (76)
Birth Sign
Leo
Birthday
23, 1863
Birthplace
South Carolina
Death Date
Dec 29, 1939 (76)

About

Remembered for his numerous racial equality-themed essays and articles, as well as for his book Out of the House of Bondage, this Washington, D.C.-based journalist, author, and prominent African-American intellectual earned the nickname of "Bard of the Potomac."

Before Fame

He excelled in his studies at Howard University and Johns Hopkins University and was the first African-American to study at the latter institution. He earned a law degree from Howard University in the early 1900s.

Trivia

For over a decade, he served as Dean of Howard University and was responsible for the creation of the institution's Negro-Americana Museum and Library.

Family Life

Born in South Carolina, he and his nine siblings were the children of ex-slave Elizabeth Miller and free man-turned-Union Army soldier Kelly Miller, Sr. His marriage to Annie May Butler resulted in five children.

Associated With

He and W. E. B. Du Bois co-edited the NAACP's journal The Crisis.