Berthe Morisot Headshot

Berthe Morisot

#16526
Plus Populaires
Boost
Anniversaire
14 , 1841
Lieu de naissance
France
DATE DU DÉCÈS
2 Mars, 1895 (54)
Signe Astrologique
Capricorne
Anniversaire
14 , 1841
Lieu de naissance
France
DATE DU DÉCÈS
2 Mars, 1895 (54)

À propos

Membre important du mouvement impressionniste français du XIXème siècle, Morisot est particulièrement célèbre pour son chef d'œuvre Le berceau (1872). Ses autres travaux majeurs sont La lecture (1873), Femme à sa toilette (1875), Le balcon (1872) et Jour d'été (1879).

Avant la gloire

Après avoir étudié auprès des peintres Camille Corot et Achille Oudinot, elle a exposé deux de ses premiers paysages au Salon de Paris en 1864.

Anecdotes

Ses œuvres ont trouvé un foyer permanent dans un grand nombre de galeries mondiales de premier plan, dont le Louvre (Paris), la National Gallery of Art (Washington), le Metropolitain Museum of Art (New York) et la National Gallery (Londres).

Vie de Famille

Née dans une fratrie de quatre enfants de Edme Tiburce Morisot et de Marie-Joséphine-Cornélie Thomas, elle a reçu une éducation privilégiée à Bourges et à Paris, en France. Elle fut mariée à Eugène Manet du milieu des années 1870 jusqu'à sa mort, leur fille Julie fut souvent l'objet du travail artistique de Morisot.

Associations

Elle fut l'amie, la collègue et la belle-sœur du peintre impressionniste Edouard Manet qui fit de nombreuses fois son portrait, comme son tableau de 1872, Berthe Morisot au bouquet de violettes.

Berthe Morisot

#86952
Most Popular
Boost
Birthday
14, 1841
Birthplace
France
Death Date
Mar 2, 1895 (54)
Birth Sign
Capricorn
Birthday
14, 1841
Birthplace
France
Death Date
Mar 2, 1895 (54)

About

A prominent member of the nineteenth-century French Impressionist movement, Morisot is particularly remembered for her masterwork The Cradle (1872). Her other major works include Reading (1873), Lady at her Toilette (1875), On the Balcony (1872), and Summer Day (1879).

Before Fame

After studying under painters Camille Corot and Achille Oudinot, she exhibited two of her early landscape paintings at the 1864 Salon de Paris.

Trivia

Her work found permanent homes at many of the world's major galleries, including the Louvre (Paris); the National Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.); the Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York); and The National Gallery (London).

Family Life

One of four children born to Edme Tiburce Morisot and Marie-Josephine-Cornelie Thomas, she had a privileged upbringing in Bourges and Paris, France. From the mid-1870s until his death in the early 1890s, she was married to Eugene Manet; their daughter, Julie, was often the subject of Morisot's artwork.

Associated With

She was the friend, colleague, and sister-in-law of fellow Impressionist painter Edouard Manet and also the subject of several of his portraits, including the 1872 work Berthe Morisot with a Bouquet of Violets.