Claude Monet Headshot

Claude Monet

#5662
Plus Populaires
Boost
Anniversaire
14 , 1840
Lieu de naissance
Paris, France
DATE DU DÉCÈS
5 Déc., 1926 (86)
Signe Astrologique
Scorpion
Anniversaire
14 , 1840
Lieu de naissance
Paris, France
DATE DU DÉCÈS
5 Déc., 1926 (86)

À propos

Peintre impressionniste français, célèbre pour ses œuvres "Impression, soleil levant" et "Les Nymphéas". Il s'était donné la mission artistique de dépeindre la campagne française au travers des différentes heures de la journée et du changement de saison.

Avant la gloire

Lui et bien d'autres artistes innovateurs de son temps ont été forcés d'exposer leurs œuvres eux-mêmes après avoir été rejetés de nombreuses fois auprès de la traditionnelle exposition annuelle de l'Académie des Beaux-Arts au Salon de Paris.

Anecdotes

Il a peint plusieurs de ses tableaux de la série "Les Nymphéas" alors qu'il commençait à perdre la vue.

Vie de Famille

Il a résisté aux tentatives de son père qui voulait l'entraîner dans le commerce familial, et a insisté pour devenir artiste. Il s'est marié à Camille Doncieux en 1870, et tous deux emménagent dans une maison dans la campagne française à Giverny. Plusieurs des peintures les plus célèbres de Monet s'inspirent des paysages magnifiques de sa terre natale. Après la mort de Camille, atteinte d'une tuberculose, en 1879, il se marie avec Alice Hoschede de 1892 à 1911. Il a également deux fils, Jean et Michel.

Associations

Il a influencé les travaux d'autres peintres impressionnistes comme Edgar Degas.

Claude Monet

#12910
Most Popular
Boost
Birthday
14, 1840
Birthplace
Paris, France
Death Date
Dec 5, 1926 (86)
Birth Sign
Scorpio
Birthday
14, 1840
Birthplace
Paris, France
Death Date
Dec 5, 1926 (86)

About

French Impressionist painter famous for such works as Impression, Sunrise and Water Lilies. His artistic mission was to document the French countryside through the various hours of the day and the changing seasons.

Before Fame

He and many other innovative artists of his day were forced to exhibit their works independently after being repeatedly rejected by the traditional Académie des Beaux-Arts' annual exhibition, Salon de Paris.

Trivia

He painted many of his famous images of water lilies while he was going blind.

Family Life

He resisted his father's attempts to draw him into the family grocery business and insisted, instead, on becoming an artist. He married Camille Doncieux in 1870, and the two set up house in a French countryside estate in Giverny. Many of Monet's most famous paintings featured the beautifully landscaped grounds of his country home. After Camille's death from tuberculosis in 1879, he was married to Alice Hoschede from 1892 to 1911. He had two sons named Jean and Michel.

Associated With

He influenced the work of fellow Impressionist painter Edgar Degas.