Francois Mitterrand Headshot

Francois Mitterrand

#1473
Plus Populaires
Boost
Anniversaire
26 , 1916
Lieu de naissance
France
DATE DU DÉCÈS
8 Janv., 1996 (79)
Signe Astrologique
Scorpion
Anniversaire
26 , 1916
Lieu de naissance
France
DATE DU DÉCÈS
8 Janv., 1996 (79)

À propos

Avant de devenir président de la République française en 1981 il a assumé de hauts postes au gouvernement, dont Ministre d'État, Ministre de l'Intérieur et Ministre de la Justice.

Avant la gloire

Après avoir fréquenté le Collège Saint-Paul il est sorti diplômé de l'École libre des sciences politiques de Paris. Sa première nomination en politique, à la fin des années 1940, était comme Ministre des anciens combattants et des victimes de guerre.

Anecdotes

À des moments différents de sa carrière politique il a été affilié à l'Union démocratique et socialiste de la Résistance (UDSR), à la Convention des institutions européennes et au Parti socialiste français. Pendant la majorité de sa présidence il souffrait secrètement d'un cancer de la prostate, dont il est mort moins d'un an avant de terminer sa quatorzième année comme président.

Vie de Famille

Lui et ses sept frères et sœurs ont grandi dans une famille très catholique à Jarnac, en France. De son mariage avec Danielle Gouze Mitterrand sont issus ses fils Pascal, Jean-Christophe et Gilbert. Il a eu deux autres enfants issus de ses aventures extraconjugales avec Anne Pingeot et Christina Forsne.

Associations

Le républicain Jacques Chirac lui a succédé au poste de président.

Francois Mitterrand

#92873
Most Popular
Boost
Birthday
26, 1916
Birthplace
France
Death Date
Jan 8, 1996 (79)
Birth Sign
Scorpio
Birthday
26, 1916
Birthplace
France
Death Date
Jan 8, 1996 (79)

About

Before becoming President of France in 1981, he held a number of high-ranking governmental positions, including Minister of State, Minister of the Interior and Minister of Justice.

Before Fame

After attending the College Saint-Paul, he graduated from Paris' Ecole Libre des Sciences Politiques. His earliest political appointment (in the late 1940s) was as Minister of Veterans and War Victims.

Trivia

At different points in his political career, he was affiliated with the Democratic and Socialist Union of the Resistance (UDSR), the Convention of Republican Institutions (CIR) and the French Socialist Party. Throughout the bulk of his presidency, he secretly suffered from prostate cancer. He died of the disease less than a year after completing his fourteen years in office.

Family Life

He and his seven siblings were raised in a devout Roman Catholic family in Jarnac, France. His marriage to Danielle Gouze Mitterrand resulted in sons named Pascal, Jean-Christophe, and Gilbert; he had two additional children through affairs with Anne Pingeot and Christina Forsne.

Associated With

He was succeeded in office by Rally for the Republic politician Jacques Chirac.