Gustave Flaubert Headshot

Gustave Flaubert

#6278
Plus Populaires
Boost
Anniversaire
12 , 1821
Lieu de naissance
Rouen, France
DATE DU DÉCÈS
8 Mai, 1880 (58)
Signe Astrologique
Sagittaire
Anniversaire
12 , 1821
Lieu de naissance
Rouen, France
DATE DU DÉCÈS
8 Mai, 1880 (58)

À propos

Grand écrivain français connu pour son attention scrupuleuse au détail et au choix des mots, il est particulièrement célèbre pour son roman de 1857, Madame Bovary. Ses autres travaux majeurs comprennent Mémoires d'un fou, L'Education sentimentale et le Château des Cœurs.

Avant la gloire

Il a grandi dans le Nord de la France et a débuté l'écriture à tout juste 8 ans. Plus tard, il alla à Paris pour étudier le droit, bien qu'il renonçât plus tard à sa carrière d'avocat.

Anecdotes

Il fut un écrivain méticuleux et perfectionniste dont le travail reflète les doubles influences littéraires du romantisme et du réalisme. Étant profondément romantique, ses amis le défièrent de s'essayer à un style plus réaliste. Le résultat fut son chef d'œuvre, Madame Bovary.

Vie de Famille

Il a entretenu une relation amoureuse avec la poétesse Louise Colet durant les années 1840 et 1850. Il était également tristement célèbre pour ses fréquentes relations sexuelles avec des prostitués, hommes comme femmes. 

Associations

Son travail, marqué par le détachement et les références scientifiques et légales, ont grandement influencé le style littéraire de Franz Kafka.

Gustave Flaubert

#109074
Most Popular
Boost
Birthday
12, 1821
Birthplace
Rouen, France
Death Date
May 8, 1880 (58)
Birth Sign
Sagittarius
Birthday
12, 1821
Birthplace
Rouen, France
Death Date
May 8, 1880 (58)

About

An important French writer known for his scrupulous attention to detail and word choice, he is most famous for his 1857 novel, Madame Bovary. His other major works include Memoirs of a Madman, Sentimental Education, and Le Chateau des Coeurs.

Before Fame

He grew up in northern France and began writing when he was just eight years old. Later, he traveled to Paris to study law, though he later decided against a career as an attorney.

Trivia

He was a meticulous, perfectionistic writer whose work showed the dual literary influences of romanticism and realism. Being such a romantic, he was dared by his friends to try his hand at the more realistic style. The result was his masterpiece, Madame Bovary.

Family Life

He had a romantic relationship with poet Louise Colet during the 1840s and 1850s. He was also infamous for his frequent sexual relations with both male and female prostitutes and was rumored to suffer from syphilis and other venereal diseases.

Associated With

His work, marked by detachment and scientific and legal references, greatly influenced the literary style of Franz Kafka.