Henri De Toulouse-Lautrec Headshot

Henri De Toulouse-Lautrec

#12492
Plus Populaires
Boost
Anniversaire
24 , 1864
Lieu de naissance
France
DATE DU DÉCÈS
9 Sept., 1901 (36)
Signe Astrologique
Sagittaire
Anniversaire
24 , 1864
Lieu de naissance
France
DATE DU DÉCÈS
9 Sept., 1901 (36)

À propos

Reconnu pour ses peintures post-impressionnistes comme "Maxime Dethomas, au Bal de l'Opéra" (1896) et "La Blanchisseuse" (1889), ce peintre français du XIXe siècle est également célèbre pour ses affiches colorées représentant des scènes de cabaret du Moulin Rouge à Paris.

Avant la gloire

Depuis sa plus tendre enfance, il souffrait de problèmes de santé qui ont perturbé sa croissance et l'ont laissé avec un handicap permanent et une taille bien inférieure à la moyenne.

Anecdotes

Au cours de sa carrière, il a créé plus de 6 000 œuvres d'art, dont des aquarelles, des affiches, des dessins, des gravures et des céramiques. En 2005, sa peinture La Blanchisseuse a été vendue pour plus de 22 millions de dollars.

Vie de Famille

Il est né à Albi dans le Tarn et a grandit principalement à Paris comme l'enfant des aristocrates Adèle Tapié de Céleyran et le comte Alphonse de Toulouse-Lautrec-Monfa. À l'âge de quatre ans, il a dû faire face à la mort de son jeune frère ainsi qu'à la séparation de ses parents.

Associations

Il était un ami proche du célèbre écrivain irlandais Oscar Wilde.

Henri De Toulouse-Lautrec

#101467
Most Popular
Boost
Birthday
24, 1864
Birthplace
France
Death Date
Sep 9, 1901 (36)
Birth Sign
Sagittarius
Birthday
24, 1864
Birthplace
France
Death Date
Sep 9, 1901 (36)

About

Remembered for such Post-Impressionist paintings as "A Box at the Theater" (1896) and "The Laundress" (1889), this nineteenth-century French painter is equally famous for his colorful posters depicting cabaret scenes from Paris' Moulin Rouge.

Before Fame

From his early childhood years, he suffered from health problems that disrupted his growth and left him permanently physically disabled and much shorter in stature than the average man.

Trivia

Over the course of his career, he created more than 6,000 works of art, including watercolors, posters, drawings, prints, and ceramics. In 2005, his painting La Blanchisseuse (The Laundress) sold for over twenty-two million United States dollars.

Family Life

He was born in Albi, France and raised primarily in Paris as the child of aristocrats Adele Tapie de Celeyran and Comte Alphonse de Toulouse-Lautrec-Monfa. When he was four years old, he dealt with both the death of his younger brother and his parents' subsequent separation.

Associated With

He was a close friend of the famous Irish author Oscar Wilde.