Marie Tussaud

Sculpteur

Anniversaire 1 Décembre, 1761

Signe Astrologique Sagittaire

Lieu de naissance France

DATE DU DÉCÈS 16 Avr., 1850 (88)

#17919 Plus Populaires

À propos

Restée dans les mémoires pour ses sculptures de cire réalistes, cette artiste française a créé le musée de cire de Madame Tussaud original à Londres, en Angleterre, dans les années 1830. Elle a réalisé la célèbre statue de cire de Benjamin Franklin ainsi que les masques mortuaires de personnages historiques français guillotinés tels que Roberpierre, Marie Antoinette et Louis XVI.

Avant la gloire

Elle a appris l'art de sculpter la cire auprès de Philippe Curtius, un médecin et artiste français chez qui sa mère travaillait comme gouvernante. Elle réalise sa première œuvre en cire à la fin des années 1770, une sculpture de l'écrivain et philosophe français Voltaire.

Anecdotes

Elle fut arrêtée avec Joséphine de Beauharnais (l'épouse de Napoleon Bonaparte) pendant le règne de la terreur. Tussaud devait être exécutée mais reçut un pardon peu avant de monter sur l'échafaud.

Vie de Famille

Elle est née en France et a grandi en Suisse. Après être retournée dans son pays natal pendant la révolution française, elle s'installe à Londres, en Angleterre, avec ses fils Joseph et François.

Associations

Elle a réalisé une commande d'un masque de cire du révolutionnaire français assassiné Jean-Paul Marat. Cette œuvre ainsi que plusieurs autres simliaires, fut transportée à travers Paris en défi à l'oppression et la violence.

Marie Tussaud

#96755
Most Popular
Boost
Birthday
1, 1761
Birthplace
France
Death Date
Apr 16, 1850 (88)
Birth Sign
Sagittarius
Birthday
1, 1761
Birthplace
France
Death Date
Apr 16, 1850 (88)

About

Remembered for her lifelike wax sculptures, this French-born artist established the original Madame Tussauds wax museum in London, England, in the 1830s. She created a famous wax statue of Benjamin Franklin, as well as death masks of such guillotined French historical figures as Robespierre, Marie Antoinette, and Louis XVI.

Before Fame

She learned the art of wax sculpting from Philippe Curtius, a French doctor and artist by whom her mother was employed as a housekeeper. In the late 1770s, she crafted her first wax work, a sculpture of French writer and philosopher Voltaire.

Trivia

During the French Reign of Terror, she was arrested along with Joséphine de Beauharnais (the wife of Napoleon Bonaparte). Tussaud was set to be executed; however, she was pardoned shortly before she was to face the guillotine.

Family Life

She was born in France and raised in Switzerland. After returning to her native country during the French revolutionary period, she settled in London, England with her sons Joseph and François.

Associated With

She was commissioned to craft a wax death mask of murdered French revolutionary Jean-Paul Marat. The piece, along with several others like it, was carried throughout the city of Paris as a symbol of defiance against oppression and violence.